a green house thanksgiving

by me

We celebrated Thanksgiving last night at the greenhouse. With families and friends visiting from home, professors, friends from around Copenhagen, and the greenhouse crew, we ended up hosting a 30 person feast! It was a potluck like no other with 2 turkeys, 1 duck, 3 different types of mashed potatoes, 2 string bean casseroles, bacon wrapped asparagus (that was my contribution) homemade noodles, caramelized carrots 2 large stuffings, roasted veggies, 2 pumpkin pies, an apple pie, nutella mint brownies, cheese and fruit plates, and i am sure i am forgetting some.

yum. bacon.

sara and her homemade noodles

jeff and duck

Despite the group’s size we still went around and all said what we were thankful for. Last night I realized how much of a family the greenhouse has become and how special it felt  to be able to welcome others into our home, especially the Danes who have never experienced Thanksgiving before.

While last night was one of the happiest nights, it’s still weird not to be home to celebrate my favorite holiday. I’m sure Papa will print out this post and bring it to the dinner tonight at my house. So, to all at home: I love you very much and can’t wait to see you soon!

To everyone else, have a happy, healthy, and hearty Thanksgiving!!

 

Lots of love from Denmark

